Of Trials and of Angels Magazine Spread

By combining all the elements I have been studying in the other posts, I’ve come up with a magazine spread for a BYU-I devotional speech. The speech was given on 11th of June, 2013 by Jo Anne Kay. I ran across this speech a few years ago when preparing for an essay in one of my religion classes. Every since, I’ve tried to see the angels in my everyday life.

Speech: http://www.byui.edu/devotionals/jo-anne-kay

Photography: Rexburg Temple and People – these were by me

Artwork: Heavenly Hands by Greg Olsen

Target Audience

My template was from the Ensign magazine, which is distributed by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I was targeting older women of the church with images of little children and angels. I also used purple and gold color scheme which I feel appeals to a feminine audience. The purple and gold were dark toned to show maturity for an older audience. The script in the title also helps appeal to an older audience because it shows timelessness.

Design Analysis

For typography I tried to stay with two fonts excluding the title. I used Minion Pro, an oldstyle font, for the body copy. I then used Myriad Pro, a sans serif font, for all the subtitles, pull-out quotes and byline. This helps with readability and then demonstrates contrast within the typography. I used a script/decorative font for the title to help show elegance and maturity.

I wanted to show children being helped by angels and also people here on earth. So I used a painting by Greg Olsen and a photo I took of my husband with his little nephew. The temple is Heaven on earth and there we can communicate with Heaven and receive help.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

